CK5 Forums

PDA

View Full Version : 89 TBI question

Randy92782
04-22-2011, 07:14 PM
Ok i've not messed with a whole lot of TBI motors before so i'm relatively new to it. :whistle:

Lets start with it's a '89 Burburban 3/4 ton powered by a TBI 454. I am getting fuel to the injectors and am also getting power but the thing when cranked will not shoot fuel out. I can hook a wire from the ground on the battery to a wire on the injector and it will shoot out like crazy when cranked.

I was told (by a member here)to hook a light up to one injector and when it was cranked it would blink dimly if the ECM was working. I did this and got nothing. I also checked ALL grounds and can't seem to get the damn thing to work at all. I pulled the motor and forgot where they went though so that could be wrong :doah:Anyone have any pics? I changed ECM's and still nothing.

I'm assuming the relays on the firewall have something to do with this. Is there a way to test them and see if they work? :confused:

I also see this thing and know it has to do something but what I have no idea.
http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb119/Randy92782/unknownwire.jpg
And since I have your attention WTH is this? I assumed a temp sender but it's on the other side :rolleyes:

http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb119/Randy92782/unknownwireplug.jpg

If I can't figure it out I have a quadrajet that will fit right on it :pimp:

89GMCK5
04-22-2011, 07:37 PM
My 89 350 TBI has the same type of connector, same place, also hanging loose. I thought the same thing, it has to do something and should be hooked up somewhere for something. I have purchased service manuals, wiring diagram manual, and emissions manual off e bay. Hopefully I will track it down when I get some guidance there. Still waiting for delivery though.

Interested in seeing what the folks come up with here. Someone will surely know right away.

Sorry I'm no help.

Interested

zombie1969
04-22-2011, 07:59 PM
Hope this helps.