K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > General Discussion > The Garage

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2012, 12:54 AM   #1
StupidsexyflandersUSN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lemoore,ca
Posts: 5

i Trader: (0 )

Need wire harness

I have a beautiful 81 k5 named charlotte. I put a SBC 350 out a 77 C10 and i need a harness, i am having a hell of a time finding one to compare to EZ HARNESS and PAINLESS and even finding a diagram to compare and use what i have. But i would much rather replace to 30 year old wires....any input would be appreciated. This is my first k5....and a learning experience my last truck was diesel hahah and this one will be a duramax soon too i hope.
StupidsexyflandersUSN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 04-30-2012, 10:13 AM
Posted in reply to StupidsexyflandersUSN's post "Need wire harness"
  #2
Kain
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
Kain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lubbock Texas
Posts: 1,108

i Trader: (0 )

aaw is the way to go http://www.americanautowire.com/
they will build you a complete harness, unlike painless you have to supply the grounds
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:29 AM
Posted in reply to Kain's post starting "aaw is the way to go ..."
  #3
ion
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
ion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 1,816

i Trader: (8 )

American Autowire will not touch the harnesses on the 73-87 chevy trucks. I am a west coast dealer for them. They won't do anything on them because of the computers in the 1984 and up models.

They keep putting it off, but if they get enough of people wanting it, then they will make it.
__________________
-JJ

2012 Scion tC Daily Driver, still plenty fast.

Resident RC Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by miniwally View Post
She's got a kid so you know she puts out, so why rush
My wiener is 10.5".....Oh wait...I'm holding this ruler backwards
ion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:42 AM
Posted in reply to ion's post starting "American Autowire will not touch the..."
  #4
ion
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
ion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 1,816

i Trader: (8 )

But if you go with the american autowire harness kits, they best one to use would probably be the Highway 22 Kit, you get 22 circuits on that one, and it's the one LMC Sells for the 73-87 Chevy/GMC Trucks, they list for $450 but i can get them for $419.95

Or another option is the power plus 20 series kit. It has 20 circuits and it's a little bit less complete than the highway 22 kit, and it lists for 300, and i have it for 279.95
__________________
-JJ

2012 Scion tC Daily Driver, still plenty fast.

Resident RC Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by miniwally View Post
She's got a kid so you know she puts out, so why rush
My wiener is 10.5".....Oh wait...I'm holding this ruler backwards
ion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 12:42 PM
Posted in reply to ion's post starting "But if you go with the american..."
  #5
RootBreaker
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
RootBreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Williamstown, NJ USA
Posts: 4,679

i Trader: (11 )

not sure how much as in computer driven yours is..
but i purchased a ez-wiring 21 kit.. beautiful kit..
however I used my tail light harness and headlight harness... so i used the main fuse block and in cab wires..

i took it a step further.. i also cut every wire and put it through the factory harness.. best thing i ever did..

only recommendation i have is this..
buy the color coded wire set.. I bought all black as $10 cheaper.. yeah it says what it is every foot.. but when people say.. oh oil gauge is green... ummm no it is black that says....oil.........oil.........oil....
try and dig through a pile of wires.. is frustrating!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
1978 Chevy 1 ton
Locked, Lifted, vortec'd
2013 GMC Sierra Z-92 (click - by American Luxury Coach)

My Page - Currently up to date
My Build Page on CK5.com
RootBreaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 01:03 AM
Posted in reply to ion's post starting "But if you go with the american..."
  #6
StupidsexyflandersUSN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lemoore,ca
Posts: 5

i Trader: (0 )

the 20 series super sounds good...im on a tight budget in an e3 in the navy and pay is tight. i just want my dirty girl runnin already. my buddies with broncos keeping runnin their mouths hahah anyways i appreciate the input and i will look into that kit and check the posted links
StupidsexyflandersUSN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 05:33 AM   #7
Cili
Supporting Member
Cili
 
Cili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sidney MI
Posts: 218

i Trader: (0 )

I personally would say Painless. I put one in my 71 C10 last year and it was awesome. Every wire color coded factory color, labeled on the wire, and gave tons of extra wire so you could route it however you want. Also came with wiring diagrams so you could track down problems later on. As said above it didnt come with grounds, but i think I only had to make like 4 at the most. It also came with a maxi-fuse to protect the fuse block.
Cili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 06:33 AM   #8
45acpJr
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
45acpJr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 620

i Trader: (2 )

I would try ez-wiring, I installed their 21 circuit kit and it worked out very well for me. And it cost a fraction of the Painless kit. I think it was around $300
45acpJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 08:53 AM
Posted in reply to 45acpJr's post starting "I would try ez-wiring, I installed..."
  #9
Cili
Supporting Member
Cili
 
Cili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sidney MI
Posts: 218

i Trader: (0 )

My painless kit cost like 375.
Cili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 08:55 AM
Posted in reply to Cili's post starting "My painless kit cost like 375."
  #10
ion
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
ion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dayton, NV
Posts: 1,816

i Trader: (8 )

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cili View Post
My painless kit cost like 375.

Was it universal or specific for a year and model, when did you get it and where? They sell for 611 at summit. that's for the "Factory Fit" for the 1973-87 Chevy/GMC Trucks?
__________________
-JJ

2012 Scion tC Daily Driver, still plenty fast.

Resident RC Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by miniwally View Post
She's got a kid so you know she puts out, so why rush
My wiener is 10.5".....Oh wait...I'm holding this ruler backwards
ion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.