K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > Technical Discussion > 73-91 K5/Suburban/Truck

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2001, 09:31 PM   #1
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Posts: n/a


anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

if so let me know how you like it. i have a line on some 305 heads and i hear they have smaller combustion chambers and give good torque.

78, 350/350/203, 3/4 ton, 4" lift, 35" BFGs
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://bluebeast.coloradok5.com/>http://bluebeast.coloradok5.com/</A>


  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 05-07-2001, 09:38 PM
Posted in reply to **DONOTDELETE**'s post "anyone put 305 heads on a 350?"
  #2
northgate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Sisters, Oregon
Posts: 75

i Trader: (0 )

Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

Most 350 heads have 76cc or 64cc combustion chambers, while the 305's are 58cc. You will get a lot of free horsepower by bolting them on, but they are a lighter casting and therefore will not hold up under heavy use as well as a heavier casting. I have done this on "claimer" racing engines and it works good for cheap horsepower, but I don't know if I would do it for any long term use.

northgate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2001, 10:18 AM
Posted in reply to **DONOTDELETE**'s post "anyone put 305 heads on a 350?"
  #3
dyeager535
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
dyeager535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Roy WA
Posts: 24,608

i Trader: (6 )

Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

You'd be better off getting some better heads, like early 350 heads or best bet (for stock) are some Vortecs. the 305 heads are really pretty bad designs from all I have ever heard. You may get good torque, but you can do that with smaller valves in better heads, so that you have torque down low, but they could still breathe once you got moving



Dorian
My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
dyeager535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2001, 12:43 PM   #4
ftn96
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Nashville Tn
Posts: 3,238

i Trader: (0 )

Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

Not a good idea!

Will work for beer, parts and tools.
90-350TBI-TCI700-241-33"-10/12 bolt w/4.10's,
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com>http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com</A>
ftn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2001, 05:01 PM   #5
**DONOTDELETE**
Guest
 
Posts: n/a


Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

i have a set of heads off a 69 350 truck motor. they have 1.74 intake valves. anyone know how to sourse the casting number to find out the cumbustion chamber size? the no. is 3832454. they would have to be rebuilt with hardend seats to work for me. i was trying to stay on the cheep theme.

78, 350/350/203, 3/4 ton, 4" lift, 35" BFGs
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://bluebeast.coloradok5.com/>http://bluebeast.coloradok5.com/</A>


  Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2001, 05:11 PM
Posted in reply to **DONOTDELETE**'s post "Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?"
  #6
jimmyjack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Tucson Az
Posts: 2,277

i Trader: (0 )

Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

sposed to use a special piston It was kind of a hot topic a few years back Kind of for racing only tho'

"My blazer may be slow, but it goes faster at higher speeds"

Jim
jimmyjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2001, 06:56 PM
Posted in reply to **DONOTDELETE**'s post "Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?"
  #7
ftn96
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Nashville Tn
Posts: 3,238

i Trader: (0 )

Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

Blue beast go to www.mortec.com to look up the casting numbers

Will work for beer, parts and tools.
90-350TBI-TCI700-241-33"-10/12 bolt w/4.10's,
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com>http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com</A>
ftn96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2001, 09:41 AM
Posted in reply to **DONOTDELETE**'s post "Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?"
  #8
dyeager535
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
dyeager535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Roy WA
Posts: 24,608

i Trader: (6 )

Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

as well as Mortec if they don't list the specific number you have, I have a couple of links on my page to other casting number sites...nastyz28.com is pretty good as well.


Dorian
My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
dyeager535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2001, 10:41 AM
Posted in reply to **DONOTDELETE**'s post "Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?"
  #9
Blazer1970
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Old Mission, MI
Posts: 1,600

i Trader: (0 )

Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

Beast, if those heads are 3932454, they are '68 or '69 307 heads. Not sure of combustion chamber volume for those.

Tim

70 Blazer CST 4X4 350 SM465 NP205
87 Burb 4X4 350
01 GMC 2500HD 4X4 Duramax/Allison
Blazer1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2001, 11:02 AM
Posted in reply to **DONOTDELETE**'s post "anyone put 305 heads on a 350?"
  #10
k5woody
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: S E Colorado
Posts: 144

i Trader: (0 )

Re: anyone put 305 heads on a 350?

I built up a 383 and had 202-160 heads on it. It killed all my torque. I put on a set of 305 heads and it really enhanced the torque. If you are not going to be running allot of high r's, the 305 heads are great! I have been running these on the old 383 now for 4 years and have not had an ounce of trouble. You could have trouble if you get them hot--so I have been told. I have had nothing but good experiences with the ones I am running. They do up the compression, but I have not had any trouble with it and I had it set up for 11:1 when I built the 383. Allot of people discourage this swap--but after running a set for a few years with no trouble what so ever--I Would recommend. The torque is unbelievable.

k5woody I Don't Understand The Jeep Thing Either!!!<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by k5woody on 05/09/01 11:08 AM (server time).</FONT></P>
k5woody is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.