K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > Technical Discussion > 73-91 K5/Suburban/Truck

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2001, 05:11 PM   #1
1986Blazer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Key West, FL - Southernmost Point
Posts: 511

i Trader: (0 )

Weak A/C Blower Motor

Is it just my K5 or is it K5's in general, but, is there a solution for a weak A/C blower motor (yes...I have replaced it....twice). It seems to need alot of help but I have not come up with a solution.

1986Blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 06-18-2001, 05:39 PM
Posted in reply to 1986Blazer's post "Weak A/C Blower Motor"
  #2
Pugsley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 3,556

i Trader: (0 )

Re: Weak A/C Blower Motor

I've got one that I acquired from a Suburban that seems to put out twice the airflow than my factory one did. I remember that someone used to sell "super efficient" squirrel cages, but haven't seen one for years.

I'm so poor I can't even pay attention
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://pugsley.alloffroad.com>http://pugsley.alloffroad.com</A>
Pugsley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2001, 05:42 PM
Posted in reply to Pugsley's post "Re: Weak A/C Blower Motor"
  #3
88K5Jimmy
Registered User
 
88K5Jimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tulsa OK
Posts: 1,323

i Trader: (0 )

Re: Weak A/C Blower Motor

Would the blower motors in late model chevy's &gmc's fit?? My dad has a 98 chevy 3/4ton and that thing blows like its nobody's business. Just a thought

88K5Jimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2001, 09:44 PM
Posted in reply to 1986Blazer's post "Weak A/C Blower Motor"
  #4
CaptCrunch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,596

i Trader: (0 )

Re: Weak A/C Blower Motor

Newer motors do put out more IMO... also newer resisters(sp?) help as well... first I would make sure all the tubes are clear of objects and that all the tubes are hooked up. It is very common for the heater ports to suck stuff in or become clogged and also common for the upper vents to be messed up and not attached right when someone pulls the dash cover.

-Mikey
1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm>http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm</A>
CaptCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2001, 09:50 PM
Posted in reply to 1986Blazer's post "Weak A/C Blower Motor"
  #5
CaptCrunch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,596

i Trader: (0 )

Re: Weak A/C Blower Motor

Newer motors do put out more IMO... also newer resisters(sp?) help as well... first I would make sure all the tubes are clear of objects and that all the tubes are hooked up. It is very common for the heater ports to suck stuff in or become clogged and also common for the upper vents to be messed up and not attached right when someone pulls the dash cover.

-Mikey
1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm>http://www.geocities.com/milnerlives_2000/blazer.htm</A>
CaptCrunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2001, 02:26 AM
Posted in reply to CaptCrunch's post "Re: Weak A/C Blower Motor"
  #6
AntAZBlaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 273

i Trader: (0 )

Re: Weak A/C Blower Motor

I went and replaced my blower moter and i asked for a burb blower, they were the same thing as my blaz moter i was wondering if maybe the fan might have blades that came in different angels to push more air.
where would i find, "newer resistors", to replace them?
how many tubes should you have to check for blockage and where are they?
i've been in a 87 burb and i was shocked how much more it pumped out when compared tomy blaze.
i've gone through all the equipment under the dash and made sure everything was connected correctly and placed material around all connections points to keep the air flowing through the system.
i've been working on this issue for a long time and any help would be apreciated.

AntAZBlaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.