K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > General Discussion > The Garage

Remove these ads.

View Poll Results: Why does this plug look like this
Lean carb tuning 2 20.00%
Timing too far advanced 0 0%
That plug looks fine 7 70.00%
Nekkid and enjoying it 1 10.00%
Voters: 10. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2006, 09:46 AM
Posted in reply to johnathan's post starting "I bought a 1406 and the stock rods..."
  #21
78Suburban
Registered User
 
78Suburban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,609

i Trader: (6 )

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnathan
I bought a 1406 and the stock rods where too lean,I went one stage richer.I bought mine at Advance.Mfg #1456......barcode #38014
What kinda motor did you put it on? Do you still have the stock metering rods? I would be interested to know what the numbers on them are. If it turns out that I have smaller than stock rods, I'll buy your stock rods and jets from ya if you still have them. That is assuming that the electric choke and manual choke carbs are the same (mine is manual choke.)
78Suburban is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 04-26-2006, 01:28 PM
Posted in reply to 78Suburban's post starting "What kinda motor did you put it on? Do..."
  #22
johnathan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ocean Springs,MS
Posts: 376

i Trader: (1 )

stock 350 I do have the stock rods,the # is7547 on the stock rods
johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 01:31 PM
Posted in reply to johnathan's post starting "stock 350 I do have the stock rods,the..."
  #23
johnathan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ocean Springs,MS
Posts: 376

i Trader: (1 )

Now for the jets I did'nt change those.The guy at Edelbrock just said to Slide the rods in and I'd be fine,had no problems since.My Blazer was surging at light acceleration,and would spit back through the carb every once in a while.
johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 05:59 PM
Posted in reply to johnathan's post starting "Now for the jets I did'nt change..."
  #24
78Suburban
Registered User
 
78Suburban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,609

i Trader: (6 )

Straight from edelbrock's website:
1405 600 .070" x .047" orange (5")

I had an orange spring and the number on the side of the rod seems to be 7047, which should be the stock rod for a 600 cfm manual choke performer.


Also from edelbrock's website:
Idle System:
The Idle System delivers 100% of the idle fuel. It
also meters fuel at off-idle throttle positions; a large percentage
at just off of idle decreasing to a minor influence as the throttle is
opened wider. The idle setting is critical both to a smooth idle at
proper rpm and to a smooth transition to part-throttle operation.


Since my performance problems seemed to be right off of idle, perhaps I just have way too leanly adjusted idle mix screws.

Should stock rods provide sufficient fuel for a 350 with a stock or mild cam?

78Suburban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 08:07 PM
Posted in reply to 78Suburban's post starting "Straight from edelbrock's website: 1405..."
  #25
diesel4me
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
diesel4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Massachussetts
Posts: 13,123

i Trader: (0 )

Exclamation should be..

I also have a 1405 Performer, on my 305 in the 79 C10...I read the specs on its jetting and metering rods..they are set up on the rich side--it says on the edelbrock site "calibrated for maximum performance,not mileage"..whereas the other models like the 1404,1406, are jetted for "Emission legal" and mileage ,rather than performance..hmmm...mine gives 15 mpg if you drive like an old fart..!

I didn't think your plug looks too lean..its very clean,but no snow white porcelain,specks of carbon in the porcelain,or blisters on it,which are a sure sign of too lean,overheated engine,or pre-ignition..

I'd re-adjust the idle mixture using a vacuum gauge,and if your off idle stumble is still evident,then try changing the metering rods..I'd leave the jets alone...looks like its not running too lean or rich,except perhaps under acceleration..maybe the accelerator pump is worn,or its stroke isnt long enough..did ya try the other holes in its linkage??..make sure there are no vacuum leaks anywhere too...
__________________
82 K2500 GMC stepside 6.2 diesel,
TH-400,NP-208,14 bolt SF/corp.10bolt,7.5' fisher plow- --rusting away fast though.

81 G10 van 73 307 V8 th350/MV4 2.73 10 bolt..

95 FORD Countour!..my first ford ever,after 30 years of driving! --a gift from the queen of bluegrass Rhonda Vincent!
THANKS RHONDA!
(SOLD IT ..11/30/13..)

Latest addition--1985 K-10 Suburban,6.2 diesel,700R4,3.73's,12 bolt rear..still awaiting repairs and to be registered..
diesel4me is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2006, 09:16 PM
Posted in reply to diesel4me's post "should be.."
  #26
littlejimmythatcould
Registered User
 
littlejimmythatcould's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Clovis, NM
Posts: 797

i Trader: (2 )

I'll check what rod I have in when I get home (I don't remember what one I switched it to), but 047 is the stock size rod that came in my 1405.
littlejimmythatcould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 07:51 AM   #27
78Suburban
Registered User
 
78Suburban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,609

i Trader: (6 )

Is there a trick for putting the rod back in the carb? I was having a hard time to get it to line back up with that spring and press all the way in.
thanks,
James
78Suburban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 08:10 AM
Posted in reply to 78Suburban's post starting "Is there a trick for putting the rod..."
  #28
1985_K5_Silverado
Registered User
 
1985_K5_Silverado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corn Country
Posts: 984

i Trader: (0 )

A stumble just off of idle under part-throttle that smooths out as the rpms rise can be a sign that a stiffer step-up spring is needed to lift the rods a little sooner (at higher engine vacuum) and begin the transition from the idle to the cruise circuit.
1985_K5_Silverado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 11:10 AM
Posted in reply to 1985_K5_Silverado's post starting "A stumble just off of idle under..."
  #29
78Suburban
Registered User
 
78Suburban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,609

i Trader: (6 )

is it concievable that rough terrain could cause a stock performer to backfire? It only happened once, and I was driving fairly aggressively in some rough stuff.
78Suburban is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.