K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > General Discussion > The Garage

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2007, 06:35 PM   #1
01maroonz71
Registered User
 
01maroonz71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Palmetto, fl
Posts: 1,512

i Trader: (17 )

what would cause a fuse to get so hot you can't touch it???

one of the fuses in my truck was like this. it's a big ass metal fuse that says

GTE
30A-12V

i removed it, and the only things that don't work now are the radio and the power door locks. hmmm....but the truck was sitting off for like 10hours, then as soon as i got in the truck the radio didn't work, so i looked at teh fuses and this one was so freakin hot you couln't barely touch it. i had to use pliers to remove it. any ideas????
thanks
~dave
01maroonz71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 04-28-2007, 06:37 PM   #2
4X4HIGH
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
4X4HIGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pleasanton, CA.
Posts: 21,592

i Trader: (20 )

GM of the month Winner
That fuse is waaay too big for a radio or power locks. The reason it is getting hot is because there is a short and that fuse is too big so it will get hot first before either the fuse blows or it starts a fire.
__________________
1989 blazer, 350/700R4/NP241, 8" lift, D60/14FF w/4.56's and Detroits, hydro assist, 35" BFG Mud
Scott
4X4HIGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 06:40 PM
Posted in reply to 4X4HIGH's post starting "That fuse is waaay too big for a radio..."
  #3
01maroonz71
Registered User
 
01maroonz71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Palmetto, fl
Posts: 1,512

i Trader: (17 )

ok, good thing i pulled it. im not positive that's what it controlled...because on the fuse panel, the spot it was in was actually blank. ill try to get to the bottom of this tomm. thanks man.
01maroonz71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 07:44 PM   #4
dyeager535
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
dyeager535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Roy WA
Posts: 24,702

i Trader: (6 )

Sounds like thats actually a circuit breaker, '85-ish up had two of them. They typically handle the non-fused accessory terminals.
__________________
Dorian
web page
parts for sale
"1985" K5: Vortec Headed Roller 355/MAF TPI/32 spline 465/205/10B-14SF/3.42's/33". Will be converted to MAP TPI in the future.

1987 K5: 350/TBI/700R4/208/10B F/R/3.73's/31" Someday will assimilate the "1985" drivetrain.

The answer to your carburetor problem is fuel injection.
dyeager535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 11:40 PM
Posted in reply to dyeager535's post starting "Sounds like thats actually a circuit..."
  #5
fireplug
Registered User
 
fireplug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,692

i Trader: (3 )

Had one in my '89 that was for the power windows, heated up like all get out when I was having a prob with a window motor.
fireplug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 11:52 PM   #6
lectric80
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
lectric80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Grantsville, Ut
Posts: 9,257

i Trader: (2 )

Quote:
Originally Posted by 01maroonz71
one of the fuses in my truck was like this. it's a big ass metal fuse that says

GTE
30A-12V

i removed it, and the only things that don't work now are the radio and the power door locks. hmmm....but the truck was sitting off for like 10hours, then as soon as i got in the truck the radio didn't work, so i looked at teh fuses and this one was so freakin hot you couln't barely touch it. i had to use pliers to remove it. any ideas????
thanks
~dave
That sounds just like the breaker that was in my Astro. It controlled just the power door locks and I had one lock cylinder that was shorting out. It would actually unlock the door every time I would lock it. If the power locks aren't working check the cylinders first, one is probably shorted.
lectric80 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 09:00 AM
Posted in reply to lectric80's post starting "That sounds just like the breaker that..."
  #7
01maroonz71
Registered User
 
01maroonz71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Palmetto, fl
Posts: 1,512

i Trader: (17 )

ok...will do, this fuse/breaker definately controls the radio too, and maybe some other things. i can't find where the wire is grounding out. it's kickin my ass. so i should check in the doors for a lock cylinder that is grounding??? thanks again guys
~Dave
01maroonz71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 10:10 AM
Posted in reply to 01maroonz71's post starting "ok...will do, this fuse/breaker..."
  #8
dyeager535
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
dyeager535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Roy WA
Posts: 24,702

i Trader: (6 )

I *think* you should be able to remove the connectors in the fuse panel (the locking ones we discussed) to determine where your issue is...if it's getting that hot, something is obviously wrong though, those circuit breakers are designed to reset after a bit, it could be that it is bad, but perhaps more likely that there is a short. You could always put a 5 amp fuse in the spot, and see if it pops. (without actuating the door locks or radio of cours...with no usage, obviously there should be no draw)

Better (easier) to pull wires off the fuse panel than it is to pull a door panel, if you don't have to.
__________________
Dorian
web page
parts for sale
"1985" K5: Vortec Headed Roller 355/MAF TPI/32 spline 465/205/10B-14SF/3.42's/33". Will be converted to MAP TPI in the future.

1987 K5: 350/TBI/700R4/208/10B F/R/3.73's/31" Someday will assimilate the "1985" drivetrain.

The answer to your carburetor problem is fuel injection.
dyeager535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 12:47 PM
Posted in reply to dyeager535's post starting "I *think* you should be able to remove..."
  #9
supersize75k5
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
supersize75k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: gilbert az
Posts: 8,554

i Trader: (2 )

a problem I have seen it inside the door, the wires get cracked or chafed sp? and they over time short out,

post a pic of your fuse panel..and do put a in a 5 amp to test it.
supersize75k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 12:58 PM
Posted in reply to supersize75k5's post starting "a problem I have seen it inside the..."
  #10
dyeager535
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
dyeager535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Roy WA
Posts: 24,702

i Trader: (6 )

x2 on the door switch wiring. They tend to be in bad shape. Likely cause, still wouldn't pull the door panel without testing that circuit alone if possible.
__________________
Dorian
web page
parts for sale
"1985" K5: Vortec Headed Roller 355/MAF TPI/32 spline 465/205/10B-14SF/3.42's/33". Will be converted to MAP TPI in the future.

1987 K5: 350/TBI/700R4/208/10B F/R/3.73's/31" Someday will assimilate the "1985" drivetrain.

The answer to your carburetor problem is fuel injection.
dyeager535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.