K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > Technical Discussion > 69-72 K5/Suburban/Truck

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2012, 12:18 PM   #1
Blazing rockwells
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: marysville ca
Posts: 224

i Trader: (2 )

Converted ont blinkers to led, now no worky

I have a 72 chevy k10, one of my front blinker bulbs welded itself to the housing. So i changed to the oval amber led lights and mounted them behind the grill, now i have no blinkers, i have running lights and hazard lights but no blinkers. I changed the blinker flasher to a l.e.d 2 prong flasher with a ground wire, still no worky, i changed the fuses also. I have read that a no load flasher is the the one i need, is this true?

I got the led 2 prong flasher with a ground wire
Also have a grote 44810 flasher to and that doesnt work either

So what am i missing and what am i doing wrong?
Blazing rockwells is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 01-22-2012, 01:42 PM   #2
Blazing rockwells
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: marysville ca
Posts: 224

i Trader: (2 )

I just switched the polarity on the flasher like what it says to do with the painless version and now i have blinkers all the way around, but when i turn on my headlights i dont, what am im missing here
Blazing rockwells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 02:51 PM   #3
ashman
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
ashman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: salt lake city
Posts: 1,956

i Trader: (0 )

GM of the month Winner
wish I could help ya, but I know nothing wrt wiring. GL!
__________________
my truck thread
'72 blazer 383/nv4500/203

Quote:
Originally Posted by evolve991 View Post
Instead of Prime Numbers 18436572 should be the Universal Code for communication between intelligent species.
ashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 03:14 PM
Posted in reply to ashman's post starting "wish I could help ya, but I know..."
  #4
Blazing rockwells
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: marysville ca
Posts: 224

i Trader: (2 )

Im going to warrenty out the headlight switch right now to see if that makes a difference

Last edited by Blazing rockwells; 01-22-2012 at 04:01 PM.
Blazing rockwells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 04:02 PM   #5
Blazing rockwells
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: marysville ca
Posts: 224

i Trader: (2 )

Put the new switch in and nothing changed then i turned the nob all the way to the right and they started working, dont know how or why bit im leaving it and running it
Blazing rockwells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:09 PM   #6
sponsoredbydad
Supporting Member
Dune Slaying Sand Junkie
 
sponsoredbydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dana Point "So Cal" "The sue me state"
Posts: 1,809

i Trader: (1 )

GM of the month Winner
On the L.E.D. I don't know anything about them. The headlight switch turning should only control the dimness of your instrument panel and in dome lighting. Turning it all the way to the right (I think) should lock your dome light in the ON position. Maybe that no load flasher makes since because LED lights hardly take any power to run
__________________
69K5/80ElCamino/99Burb/85Mohome/4dirtbikes/2quads/minibike/scooter//// MAN, I NEED A 1 BEDROOM HOUSE WITH A 63 CAR GARAGE


It's not a question of "IF" but "WHEN" gravity will kick your ass


4 Low makes me go slow, That's why I Fly, 4Hi
sponsoredbydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:27 PM
Posted in reply to sponsoredbydad's post starting "On the L.E.D. I don't know anything..."
  #7
Blazing rockwells
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: marysville ca
Posts: 224

i Trader: (2 )

Ya it confused me to with the headlight switch, i just went back out to check it again to make sure it was still working and it is
Blazing rockwells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 08:23 PM   #8
bp71k5
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
bp71k5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 5,537

i Trader: (14 )

Your wiring isn't correct if the light switch is controlling the blinkers.

What caused the light bulb to weld itself to the housing?


-Brian
__________________
-Brian
bp71k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 08:37 PM
Posted in reply to bp71k5's post starting "Your wiring isn't correct if the light..."
  #9
Blazing rockwells
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: marysville ca
Posts: 224

i Trader: (2 )

The blinker housing was completly full or water mud rust and everything else. I know there is a short somewhere just got to find it
Blazing rockwells is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.