K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > General Discussion > The Garage

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2008, 10:21 PM   #1
sunnyc123abc
Registered User
 
sunnyc123abc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 636

i Trader: (2 )

proportioning valve

How hard is it suppose to be to push the button on the proportioning valve, because mine isn't budging.
sunnyc123abc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 10-16-2008, 06:50 AM
Posted in reply to sunnyc123abc's post "proportioning valve"
  #2
abig84
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 457

i Trader: (0 )

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnyc123abc View Post
How hard is it suppose to be to push the button on the proportioning valve, because mine isn't budging.
theres a button on that thing? whats it do. ive replaced or broken everything on these trucks but never messed with that thing yet
abig84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:38 AM
Posted in reply to abig84's post starting "theres a button on that thing?..."
  #3
YZEATER
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
YZEATER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: TARENTUM, PA
Posts: 2,303

i Trader: (7 )

yup, there's a button on the side of it. i believe it's supposed to reset the valve if you have lost your brakes and prevents fluid from going to the front or rear. is the rubber cap missing off of yours? could be rusted in place. ant of the ones i've pushed have been hard and only move a little.
__________________
-'85 chevy 3/4 ton, d60/14b, 6", locked 4.56, 496/400/205 - mud racer - NO PATIENCE

'11 cummins ccsb 6-speed, 5"tbe, mini maxx, egr & ccv delete
YZEATER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:52 AM
Posted in reply to sunnyc123abc's post "proportioning valve"
  #4
dyeager535
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
dyeager535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Roy WA
Posts: 24,692

i Trader: (6 )

Are you having problems resetting the brake switch? I know others have, but you really shouldn't need to manually reset it unless it just won't reset. Even brake line pressure in the circuits is supposed to reset it.
__________________
Dorian
web page
parts for sale
"1985" K5: Vortec Headed Roller 355/MAF TPI/32 spline 465/205/10B-14SF/3.42's/33". Will be converted to MAP TPI in the future.

1987 K5: 350/TBI/700R4/208/10B F/R/3.73's/31" Someday will assimilate the "1985" drivetrain.

The answer to your carburetor problem is fuel injection.
dyeager535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:21 AM
Posted in reply to dyeager535's post starting "Are you having problems resetting the..."
  #5
sunnyc123abc
Registered User
 
sunnyc123abc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 636

i Trader: (2 )

The rubber cap is still there. I read that you have to have it pressed in while you are bleeding your brakes.
sunnyc123abc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:32 AM
Posted in reply to sunnyc123abc's post starting "The rubber cap is still there. I read..."
  #6
YZEATER
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
YZEATER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: TARENTUM, PA
Posts: 2,303

i Trader: (7 )

never did that before, and my brakes are fine. usually i use a vacuum bleeder though.
__________________
-'85 chevy 3/4 ton, d60/14b, 6", locked 4.56, 496/400/205 - mud racer - NO PATIENCE

'11 cummins ccsb 6-speed, 5"tbe, mini maxx, egr & ccv delete
YZEATER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:43 AM
Posted in reply to sunnyc123abc's post starting "The rubber cap is still there. I read..."
  #7
dyeager535
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
dyeager535's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Roy WA
Posts: 24,692

i Trader: (6 )

No, you do not need to depress it to bleed the brakes. AFAIK GM didn't change the design since it's inception until probably 4 wheel ABS. While earlier GM service manuals apparently make it an almost "mandatory" to-do, the later manuals are pretty clear that it should not be necessary.

Obviously sometimes it is, others here have posted as much, and I don't doubt them. In my personal experience I've not needed to do so. So I won't, unless I'm having a problem. Once the brake light goes off, the switch has reset. Which is one of a few reasons the "BRAKE" indicator light in the dash needs to work.
__________________
Dorian
web page
parts for sale
"1985" K5: Vortec Headed Roller 355/MAF TPI/32 spline 465/205/10B-14SF/3.42's/33". Will be converted to MAP TPI in the future.

1987 K5: 350/TBI/700R4/208/10B F/R/3.73's/31" Someday will assimilate the "1985" drivetrain.

The answer to your carburetor problem is fuel injection.
dyeager535 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.