K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > General Discussion > The Garage

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2009, 07:26 PM   #1
NEK5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 9,773

i Trader: (6 )

calling all those using a quadrajet on your rig with the 700r4!

Did you need an adapter to mount the TV cable on the throttle arm, or will the stud for the kick down cable work?
NEK5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 06-16-2009, 08:40 PM   #2
toomany
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
toomany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Auburn, MI
Posts: 1,633

i Trader: (1 )

I've got a q-jet/700R4 in one of my Camaros...I don't recal exactly how it hooks to the throttle arm. But I want to say I hooked it to the stud for the kickdown. I know that carb had a Th350 cable on it originaly.

I think the bigger issue is that you have the correct bracket and have the cable correctly.
toomany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 08:42 PM
Posted in reply to toomany's post starting "I've got a q-jet/700R4 in one of my..."
  #3
sweetk30
Supporting Member
web wheelin for now
 
sweetk30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: horseheads , ny 14845
Posts: 23,040

i Trader: (59 )

lots of qjet carbs have holes on the arm to add the stud for other options.
__________________

2wd resto mod 5.3/4l60e powered : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=296680
stubby j.r. : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=309865
project stubby crew cab : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=245582
diy4x custom dash : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=284383
snap-on tool box : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=225524
. . .WHEN I WAN'T YOUR OPINION I WILL REMOVE THE DUCT TAPE ! ! !
sweetk30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:14 PM   #4
Blue85
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
Blue85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Grand Rapids area
Posts: 7,759

i Trader: (0 )

I guess I don't understand the question because a lot of trucks came with Quadrajet and 700R4. Here's a pic of the carb that was on my truck with the 700 trans:



Here is the linkage diagram - bottom left is Quadrajet



The TV cable goes on the stud in the back. The "hole" is for the throttle return spring. The long black stud is for cruise control. Of course the top one is the throttle cable.
__________________
37" SSR on recentered H1's, 4.88s, TPI 350 w/custom Megasquirt, Distributorless (Ford) ignition, built 700R-4, Fixed-yoke NP208, 1-ton C/V, 14B s/f with discs and traction bar, hydroboost, ORD leaf springs, Bilstein 5150s, custom bumpers, winch, sliders, etc.
Blue85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:16 PM   #5
Blue85
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
Blue85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Grand Rapids area
Posts: 7,759

i Trader: (0 )

I think I have the bracket that mounts to the intake manifold somewhere. It connects the TV cable, throttle cable and spring. Do you need this part?
__________________
37" SSR on recentered H1's, 4.88s, TPI 350 w/custom Megasquirt, Distributorless (Ford) ignition, built 700R-4, Fixed-yoke NP208, 1-ton C/V, 14B s/f with discs and traction bar, hydroboost, ORD leaf springs, Bilstein 5150s, custom bumpers, winch, sliders, etc.
Blue85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 09:44 PM
Posted in reply to Blue85's post starting "I think I have the bracket that mounts..."
  #6
bigbadchev84
Registered User
 
bigbadchev84's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hermiston, Oregon
Posts: 2,189

i Trader: (7 )

or you could take the easy way out

http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=250958
bigbadchev84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 06:32 AM   #7
NEK5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Manchester NH
Posts: 9,773

i Trader: (6 )

Here's what I'm working with. I got this carb from phreddei16 here on CK5, and I'm pretty sure it was for an older rig, ie TH350 or 400. I have the right bracket for the cables that mounts to the back two bolts on the carb, which I believe is actually a TCI piece.

pics! don't mind the throttle cable not hooked up, it was, but i lost the stupid clip





NEK5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 10:49 AM
Posted in reply to NEK5's post starting "Here's what I'm working with. I got..."
  #8
pauly383
Daddy383
 
pauly383's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Mesa , Arizona USA
Posts: 16,240

i Trader: (5 )

That last pic shows the TV cable hooked to the right spot . Now adjust it and your set .

There are 4 things that can hook to the linkage :

1. TV cable on the stud with NO clip slot , like yours is attached .

2. throttle cable on the short stud with clip slot

3. cruise control cable on the LONG black bolt on stud with clip slot .

4. springs from rear of intake to hole with plastic bushing . NO front of intake for quadrajet return springs .
__________________
CK5picsWebshotsCardomain2ndck5picsphotobucketfacebooklocals

**** this , the 83 is going back together , restoration my arse . Should never of tore it down to make buggy . Buggy can wait , wheeling my..... my sons baby can't
pauly383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 03:05 PM
Posted in reply to NEK5's post starting "Here's what I'm working with. I got..."
  #9
Blue85
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
Blue85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Grand Rapids area
Posts: 7,759

i Trader: (0 )

I don't see any problem with what you have, as long as you can get the TV cable adjusted right.

If you look at the diagram I posted above, it shows the critical TV geometry. Just measure what you have...
__________________
37" SSR on recentered H1's, 4.88s, TPI 350 w/custom Megasquirt, Distributorless (Ford) ignition, built 700R-4, Fixed-yoke NP208, 1-ton C/V, 14B s/f with discs and traction bar, hydroboost, ORD leaf springs, Bilstein 5150s, custom bumpers, winch, sliders, etc.
Blue85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.