K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > General Discussion > The Garage

Remove these ads.

Old 06-29-2009, 12:24 PM   #1
rufusbooth

i Trader: (0 )

replace u-bolts...why?

Well, I am sure I am going to sound like a total newbie with this question but being the curious individual I am I was hoping this community could answer a nagging question for me.

changing u-bolts when working on suspension. I totally get that you should replace the u-bolts for safety reasons of you are working with really old bolts. I mean these things are what I would consider a "mission critical" item and your life depends on these things.

The root of by question is when working with recently installed components. One example I can think of is someone installs a set of lift springs in the front of the truck along with a set of zero rates placed at stock Axel location. This individual then goes wheeling the next weekend and finds the rear of the tires rubbing on a fender. Simple fix, use the zero rates to move the axle forward that extra inch. This entails loosening the u-bolts and moving the zero rates. Most people I have observed recommend changing the u-bolts because they have been torqued.

Now, the only technical reason I can think of that you would need to change the u-bolts after being torqued would be if they were a TTY type bolt. Are the u-bolts torque to yield? Inquiring minds would like to know?

Trust me, the things are not that expensive and I would likely change them myself if in that situation but I would still like to know the technical reason behind "always change the u-bolts".

Cheers,

Rufus
rufusbooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links

Remove these ads.
Old 06-29-2009, 12:33 PM
Posted in reply to rufusbooth's post "replace u-bolts...why?"
Big Blzn

GM of the month Winner