K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > General Discussion > The Garage

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2009, 05:52 PM   #1
y5mgisi
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
y5mgisi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 14,827

i Trader: (0 )

4L80E stuck in 2nd gear. Why?

My dad has a 96 chevy one ton van. tbi 350 and a 4l80e. He says its been acting up for a while, but now he has only 2nd gear and reverse Any ideas? I know there are solenoids in there but why would they not function properly?
__________________
"Sometimes with respect comes that little bit of fear."
"I will take this pry bar and slap you across the face."-pinsco63
2012 GMC Sierra SLT 1500 5.3 4x4.
90 chevy suburban/5.3swap/400/241/10blt/14bltsf.
78 GMC pickup 350/400/203/d44/14bltff/ pretty much all stock.
2005 Ford Focus. Wife's car.
y5mgisi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 10-03-2009, 10:24 PM
Posted in reply to y5mgisi's post "4L80E stuck in 2nd gear. Why?"
  #2
Thunder
Registered User
 
Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northeast Nevada
Posts: 8,945

i Trader: (0 )

Throw a scanner on it and check the tranny codes. The computer may tell you what is wrong.
Might have a bad shift, or pressure solenoid. like anyother electrical thing they just wear out after time. Or sometimes the screens in them get blocked with crud if the fluid is not changed regularly.
Thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 07:07 AM
Posted in reply to Thunder's post starting "Throw a scanner on it and check the..."
  #3
sweetk30
Supporting Member
web wheelin for now
 
sweetk30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: horseheads , ny 14845
Posts: 22,904

i Trader: (57 )

sounds like fail safe mode. 2nd and reverse only.

you need to find and fix the problem first.
__________________

2wd resto mod 5.3/4l60e powered : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=296680
stubby j.r. : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=309865
project stubby crew cab : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=245582
diy4x custom dash : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=284383
snap-on tool box : http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=225524
. . .WHEN I WAN'T YOUR OPINION I WILL REMOVE THE DUCT TAPE ! ! !
sweetk30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 05:20 PM
Posted in reply to sweetk30's post starting "sounds like fail safe mode. 2nd and..."
  #4
y5mgisi
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
y5mgisi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 14,827

i Trader: (0 )

Can i use the paperclip trick to find tranny trouble codes?
__________________
"Sometimes with respect comes that little bit of fear."
"I will take this pry bar and slap you across the face."-pinsco63
2012 GMC Sierra SLT 1500 5.3 4x4.
90 chevy suburban/5.3swap/400/241/10blt/14bltsf.
78 GMC pickup 350/400/203/d44/14bltff/ pretty much all stock.
2005 Ford Focus. Wife's car.
y5mgisi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 08:42 AM
Posted in reply to y5mgisi's post starting "Can i use the paperclip trick to find..."
  #5
Keitha
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
Keitha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 893

i Trader: (0 )

Quote:
Originally Posted by y5mgisi View Post
Can i use the paperclip trick to find tranny trouble codes?
I think you can find the codes w/ the paperclip trick. Try it out.
Keitha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 09:11 AM
Posted in reply to Keitha's post starting "I think you can find the codes w/ the..."
  #6
MTNMIKE
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: RENO, NV
Posts: 106

i Trader: (0 )

96' Is that obd1, or obd2 did you check the fluid and any connections to the tranny ?

OBD 2 uses a scanning computer plugs in under dash on driverside. I believe obd2 came out around 96' or 97'.

I had a friend with similar problems(not a 4l80e), he changed the fluid and filter and it worked fine (it was a newer dodge not a diesel).

good luck!

Mike
MTNMIKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:25 PM
Posted in reply to MTNMIKE's post starting "96' Is that obd1, or obd2 did you check..."
  #7
y5mgisi
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
y5mgisi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 14,827

i Trader: (0 )

TTT, I have heard people say this can be caused by the VSS. True? Sorry for asking these questions without having answers. He is supposed to be dropping it off at my house in the next couple weeks so i can fix it and im just trying to plan/think ahead.
__________________
"Sometimes with respect comes that little bit of fear."
"I will take this pry bar and slap you across the face."-pinsco63
2012 GMC Sierra SLT 1500 5.3 4x4.
90 chevy suburban/5.3swap/400/241/10blt/14bltsf.
78 GMC pickup 350/400/203/d44/14bltff/ pretty much all stock.
2005 Ford Focus. Wife's car.
y5mgisi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:46 PM
Posted in reply to y5mgisi's post "4L80E stuck in 2nd gear. Why?"
  #8
y5mgisi
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
y5mgisi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 14,827

i Trader: (0 )

Also this site says it could be the input speed sensor.

http://www.454ss.com/Articles_new/re...n_Problems.asp
__________________
"Sometimes with respect comes that little bit of fear."
"I will take this pry bar and slap you across the face."-pinsco63
2012 GMC Sierra SLT 1500 5.3 4x4.
90 chevy suburban/5.3swap/400/241/10blt/14bltsf.
78 GMC pickup 350/400/203/d44/14bltff/ pretty much all stock.
2005 Ford Focus. Wife's car.
y5mgisi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 07:22 AM
Posted in reply to y5mgisi's post starting "Also this site says it could be the..."
  #9
Robbie6987
Registered User
 
Robbie6987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: killeen TX
Posts: 111

i Trader: (0 )

Same thing mine did when the vss went out, big electical plug on the r/h side can work loose also and cause the same probs. Also it wont always throw a code but u can get it checked for free at autozone if u dont have a scan tool.
Robbie6987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 02:12 PM
Posted in reply to MTNMIKE's post starting "96' Is that obd1, or obd2 did you check..."
  #10
dbabicky
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,597

i Trader: (1 )

Quote:
Originally Posted by MTNMIKE View Post
96' Is that obd1, or obd2 did you check the fluid and any connections to the tranny ?

OBD 2 uses a scanning computer plugs in under dash on driverside. I believe obd2 came out around 96' or 97'.

I had a friend with similar problems(not a 4l80e), he changed the fluid and filter and it worked fine (it was a newer dodge not a diesel).

good luck!

Mike
1996 is OBD II
dbabicky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.