K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > General Discussion > The Garage

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-2010, 07:05 PM   #1
1982blazer
Registered User
 
1982blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tyler Texas
Posts: 312

i Trader: (0 )

small block chevy water neck and thermostat question

Do you have to run a gasket on the water neck on a chevy 350 in order for the thermostat to function properly? Or can you just rtv it. I just put a thermostat in my 79 and down chevy 350 stock intake manifold and stock thermostat housing/waterneck. i put the thermostat in spring down into the manifold. It seems like the thermostat is open all the time.
1982blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 10-06-2010, 07:19 PM   #2
76zimmer
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
76zimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kzoo, Mi
Posts: 19,933

i Trader: (7 )

GM of the month Winner
you can run it with RTV, just be careful not to use to much...an 1/8" bead should be sufficient. Check the thermo in a pan of water, immerse it in the pan, then bring to a boil, it should be closed to start, then open as it approaches boiling (212*)
__________________
N.E.D. ASDT MNGR club..Cofounder!!
My build thread: http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=261694
MyVette thread: http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=258437

RYOKEN: eesh, tonight, I'm contemplating 2 custom rear crossmembers and a $600 custom ss fuel tank.... what the F*CK is wrong with me?!?!?!!? :

CYBRFIRE: Nah, stainless is too brittle man. That would surely explode and kill you to death.
76zimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 07:29 PM
Posted in reply to 76zimmer's post starting "you can run it with RTV, just be..."
  #3
1982blazer
Registered User
 
1982blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tyler Texas
Posts: 312

i Trader: (0 )

I rtved it in there. I was going to biol some water and put it in there before i installed it but i got in a hurry, im thinking about pull it back out tommarow and testing it.
1982blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 07:51 PM
Posted in reply to 1982blazer's post starting "I rtved it in there. I was going to..."
  #4
1982blazer
Registered User
 
1982blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tyler Texas
Posts: 312

i Trader: (0 )

There was no thermostat in the truck when i bought it. The thermostat goes in spring side down right im about 98% sure that it does, but i want to make sure i didnt put it in upside down?
1982blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 08:24 PM
Posted in reply to 1982blazer's post starting "There was no thermostat in the truck..."
  #5
cybrfire
CK5 Vendor
"The Enabler"
 
cybrfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 13,219

i Trader: (19 )

GM of the month Winner
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1982blazer View Post
There was no thermostat in the truck when i bought it. The thermostat goes in spring side down right im about 98% sure that it does, but i want to make sure i didnt put it in upside down?
yep, spring down.
__________________


www.diy4x.com
712-472-0200 Order line
712-479-2252 Tech support

Visit us on Facebook, http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Diy4x/150564194987233

"For evil to triumph, Good men need do nothing." Edmund Burke.

www.ktshoot.com

Your online source for premium AR500 steel targets.
cybrfire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 09:42 PM   #6
4X4HIGH
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
4X4HIGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pleasanton, CA.
Posts: 21,537

i Trader: (20 )

GM of the month Winner
I would not use RTV as it can squish out and get in the way of the t-stat working correctly (might be what happened to yours). Also sometimes if anyone has machined the surface of the intake where the t-stat sits then not using a gasket could cause the water neck to break since the t-stat could potentially be sticking above the recessed groove that it is supposed to sit in. Using a gasket would take up any height difference and still seal without breaking the water neck.
__________________
1989 blazer, 350/700R4/NP241, 8" lift, D60/14FF w/4.56's and Detroits, hydro assist, 35" BFG Mud
Scott
4X4HIGH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 08:32 AM
Posted in reply to 4X4HIGH's post starting "I would not use RTV as it can squish..."
  #7
70jimmy
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
70jimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Released from Pueblo and told I belong in Southpark.
Posts: 5,319

i Trader: (2 )

GM of the month Winner
There is also an arrow usually on the t-stat to point to radiator. It is fairly common to get a bad t-stat from the store, which is why the boiling water test is smart to do.
__________________
If you go wheeling and the trip doesnt include complimentary body modification, count me in. - Amtek
70jimmy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 04:51 PM
Posted in reply to 70jimmy's post starting "There is also an arrow usually on the..."
  #8
RootBreaker
Supporting Member
Registered User
 
RootBreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Williamstown, NJ USA
Posts: 4,668

i Trader: (11 )

definitely do it right... buy the $2 gasket and put it in there....

i have been spending 2.5 years rewiring my riggings (and my last name is riggs so go figure)...
in addition i am fixing other stuff that i just got by on...

prime example.. my radiator has a nipple (he said nipple ) that i just put a rubber plug over with a hose clamp.. did this as i put a 1991 caprice police 350 in... so i went from water pump to heater core to intake

now i blocked the waterpump and moved that over to the radiator as the rubber cap would disinigrate after 2 or so years due to the antifreeze and heat destroying it...

do it right from the git go so you dont regret it in the future when you have to spend a massive overhaul to fix everything....
__________________
1978 Chevy 1 ton
Locked, Lifted, vortec'd
2013 GMC Sierra Z-92 (click - by American Luxury Coach)

My Page - Currently up to date
My Build Page on CK5.com
RootBreaker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2010, 09:29 PM
Posted in reply to RootBreaker's post starting "definitely do it right... buy the $2..."
  #9
K85 Octane
Supporting Member
Tacklin fuel
 
K85 Octane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Los Angeles/ Pasadena
Posts: 8,738

i Trader: (9 )

GM of the month Winner
ok, I'll point out the HUGE elephant in the corner

the truck came with no T-stat?

o boy
__________________
Official Member "B3"

*1985 K5 Silverado "Bender"
*1968 C10 "New Tricks"
*2001 S10 ZQ8 4.3 DD
*2004 TRX450R

K5 Build Thread
C10 Build Thread
K85 Octane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 08:25 PM
Posted in reply to K85 Octane's post starting "ok, I'll point out the HUGE elephant in..."
  #10
1982blazer
Registered User
 
1982blazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Tyler Texas
Posts: 312

i Trader: (0 )

Yes there was no tstat in it when i bought the truck, I didnt know it thow.Right after i got the truck home the water pump started leaking out the weep hole.So i replaced the water pump With a remanufactured gm casting long sbc water pump. Then maybe 2 days later the radiator went bad, so i replaced it with a $160 autozone aluminum radiator with plastic tanks. Then i put a high quality made in the usa $11 195 degree T=stat in the truck. My truck seems to be running fine now, Yesterday i drove the truck on a 230 mile round trip with no cooling issues. I bought a cheapish laser thermometer from sears just so i could get an idea of how hot the truck is running. It seems to be consistentley running at about 200-210 thats good enough for me i guess. I dont know why the po was not running a T-stat.
1982blazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.