K5 Blazer Forums  
Home of the 1969-91 K5 Blazer/Jimmy including GM Trucks and Suburbans.  
Go Back   CK5 Forums > General Discussion > The Garage

Remove these ads.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2003, 12:05 PM   #1
seventyk5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fallon, NV
Posts: 745

i Trader: (0 )

327 .60 over

I have a 327 in my 71 blazer. I want to keep it and try it out which is why I amrebuilding it. BUT I just found out it is bored .30 over already. And have been told it will have to be bored again. What effect will it being bored .60 over have compared to it stock. Is this smart or will it make my engine to weak. Any help and over all suggestions. Thanks [img]/forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif[/img]
seventyk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links



Remove these ads.
Old 09-23-2003, 12:17 PM
Posted in reply to seventyk5's post "327 .60 over"
  #2
yellowK20
Registered User
 
yellowK20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wasilla AK,
Posts: 7,091

i Trader: (5 )

Re: 327 .60 over

might run into some cooling probs Why not bore it .040 over??? trw makes .040 flat tops for a 327 it should clean up at .040 if not .060 should be fine but like I said you may have cooling issues if you have a small radiator [img]/forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif[/img]
yellowK20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 12:52 PM
Posted in reply to yellowK20's post "Re: 327 .60 over"
  #3
seventyk5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fallon, NV
Posts: 745

i Trader: (0 )

Re: 327 .60 over

It can be bored just .10 more over. This is the first engine I have ever built so I dont know. It will see some extreme trails though so I dont want it to weak?
seventyk5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 02:10 PM
Posted in reply to seventyk5's post "Re: 327 .60 over"
  #4
Beast388
Registered User
 
Beast388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Clinton, IA USA
Posts: 3,039

i Trader: (0 )

Re: 327 .60 over

You'd be lucky to be able to go to 0.040 over from 0.030. The difference is only 0.005 of cylinder wall, chances are that much material has already been worn off. I wasn't that lucky.

My 388 is 0.060 over and I have had zero problems. The last 327 was produced in 1969 so the block should be a heavy casting. There should be plenty of material to go to 0.060 over. You can always have the cylinder walls sonically checked for thickness to be sure.

Heck, you might as well toss in a 3.75" stroke crank and make it a 388! [img]/forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif[/img] [img]/forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif[/img]
Beast388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 02:14 PM
Posted in reply to Beast388's post "Re: 327 .60 over"
  #5
sled_dog
Registered User
 
sled_dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 16,892

i Trader: (3 )

Re: 327 .60 over

a 327 isn't the greatest truck motor, can be nice of course but personally I'd put a 350 or 383 in my truck and save a 327 for a car or sell it to someone for a car. And don't 327s have different journal sizes than a 350 for a 383 crank to work?
sled_dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 02:20 PM
Posted in reply to sled_dog's post "Re: 327 .60 over"
  #6
yellowK20
Registered User
 
yellowK20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wasilla AK,
Posts: 7,091

i Trader: (5 )

Re: 327 .60 over

some do some don't crank and pistons are the only differance between them you could turn down a 350 crank to fit in a small journal 327 block I don't know if you could turn a 400 crank that far down
yellowK20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2003, 04:05 PM
Posted in reply to seventyk5's post "327 .60 over"
  #7
Thumper
Registered User
 
Thumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 1,582

i Trader: (0 )

Re: 327 .60 over

Well, I have a 327 bored .060 over for about 5 yrs now in mine. It does run warm, you need a good cooling system for it thats for sure. But as far as I ever was told, the bore size of a 327 is the same as a 350, just a different stroke... so a 350 .060 over is the same wall thickness as a 327 .060 over. *shrug* thats what I was told. Since its the same block.
Anyways, I had the same issue. I had the motor in the truck, wanted to rebuild it, and they told me it was already .030 over, and it was worn .018 into that... so I had to go .060. The machine shop had no issues with doing it, but they warned me it would run hot, and they were right.

Mike
Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.